flashingreds...
short sharp shock
(2002-12-18, 2:09 p.m.)

Dear online retailers,

I am finished with the online portion of my holiday shopping. I would appreciate it if each of you took your suggestions for 10 great gifts under $30 and placed them gently in your ears, securing them by poking them down with a long stick. For god�s sake, I�m trying to get some work done, so I can spend next week wrapped in the bosom of my family and friends. Please also note that having free shipping on only a few items in my order and charging me for shipping the rest of them doesn�t fill me with good cheer, either. I know who you are and I saw what you did.

With warmest wishes,

flashingreds

----

So last night my credit card company phoned me up with one of their stinking special offers, due to my affiliation with a company who provides me permanent life insurance and IRA services. Great rate, no fees, etc. Of course they won�t just give me the great rate on the existing account, so I had to get the new card and cancel an old one and such. So we were going through the usual process, when the fellow, who was clearly new to the job, asked questions about housing. After hearing my monthly rent, he lost all semblance of professionalism and shared the information with his closest neighbor. They both hooted. I swear.

He asked if it was a pit, and I explained that it was a rockin� old house, tons of space, etc., but that it was located in the middle of nowhere. He wanted to come live there. I felt it was a bit early in our relationship for that sort of talk. He felt there would be riots in L.A., where he lives, should any such thing happen there.

I hate it when I give in to telemarketers, even if it�s a good deal. I hate it even more when I have to admit they�re nice people just trying to make a buck, because I can�t give in to every one of them.

You know me, just tryin� to lull everyone into a false sense of happiness.

Furthermore, moving out soon is still a necessity, roommate or not. He can have the place.

----

Tonight I shall try to make another batch of soap. The first was, well, somewhat of a failure. In spite of my hard work, it�s crumbly and smells like Ivory soap. And bible school. I do not have failures in the kitchen, and this is made in the kitchen, so now the gauntlet has been thrown down. I will overcome.