flashingreds...
sunday night music moment
(2002-11-24, 8:21 p.m.)
Okay, Wilco fans, I�ve found the answer to that burning question that�s plagued us at every show for upwards of a year now--Why Grand Ulena?

Check out this Reader feature. Scroll down to the part about the band On Fillmore. Don�t forget to come back.

Wilco=Glenn Kotche=On Fillmore=Grand Ulena. Aha! It�s a favor to Glenn, maybe, and not a reflection of Jeff Tweedy�s belief in their cacophony.

I must admit, if I had a band, I�d be damned pleased to have our music described as aggressive or ass-clenching, much less both adjectives at once.

The On Fillmore songs sound dreadful. Experimental, ass-clenching noise. If anyone happens to catch the show at Schubas Tuesday night, please send a report.

No, just don�t go on Tuesday. Go Wednesday and see Andrew Bird�s Bowl of Fire and Steve and Liam of Frisbie. Please. You couldn�t possibly be disappointed, unless you�re a Grand Ulena fan.

Enough! No more talk of Grand Ulena.

One more item of music news: I want to spend New Year�s Eve at the Abbey Pub--Robbie Fulks and the Bottle Rockets. Absolutely the best show in town, guaranteed. I saw him last NYE at Martyr�s, and about a month later, he did lament to me that it�d just seemed like everyone was drunk. The Bottle Rockets would never lament such an activity, kids, so don�t worry about Robbie�s judgments. You just have a good time and take a cab home.

If that�s not to your liking, Schubas won�t be so bad, either. The Drive-By Truckers are nice fellows, pals of some friends of mine. Hard-drinkin� fellows, too, but respectful. And the Centro-matic boys who�ve been touring with Jay Bennett and Ed Burch will be there. Actually, Jay B. will be, too.

I predict I�ll be here at home.

So yeah, I guess I should reveal that this music moment at flashingreds has been brought to you by the better bars of Chicago.