flashingreds...
breaking up all over the el
(2002-11-21, 12:04 p.m.)
I fell off the wagon and landed on my face. Let�s face it; we knew it was going to happen.

Toward the middle of the evening on the town, we had a nice conversation with a favored former coworker about the state of our workplace, etc. He suggested that the problems here are merely a reflection of the problem with academia in general�namely that the original thought/invention that�s happening in the world isn�t happening there, rendering all of this posturing ludicrous and empty. I think he might�ve said �stupid,� but we�d all had a bit by then.

It�s a bold statement, perhaps born of frustration, but it has the ring of truth.

We think he�s lovely.

----

My favorite reactions to yesterday�s news, reprinted here without permission:

1. GODDAMN IT!

2. For the love of god. What are these people (these people meaning the xxx folks, as well as any number of Chicago-land employers) trying to do to you? Rip out your heart and toss it out the window on I-57 just south of Kankakee?

3. I want to be sedated.

4. No move in middle of winter could be okay and who knows what will happen in the spring. (Note: I�m not quite sure what this one means. Perhaps that�s part of the allure.)

5. Andy is saying hello in that "my mouth is full of rawhide and I have no idea what the hell you�re doing" kind of way. I think...

----

Local bands last night, distant bands tonight. Yet there�s still more work tomorrow. Longest week ever.

Reb and I are hitting the road early today, off to get our Rhett Miller fix in Chicago tonight.

Of course last night I dreamt of arriving at the venue to find the exman hanging out with the band. I recall a withering glance tossed in his general direction. I guess that means I�m adequately prepared for all possibilities.