flashingreds...
didn't we do this already?
(2002-11-13, 9:22 a.m.)
Shhh, I have a secret. Prospective Boss from Prospective Suburban Employer called last night. I was not drinking in a bar when she called. Honestly.

There is still hope�things are looking up there. I got some good inside info that nobody else in the office knows, and it makes me happy.

Oh, Chicago, prepare yourself. And friends, help me find a humble abode on the northwest side of the city, with easy access to 90/94 and a Metra station, okay? Because that�s the hard part. It�s a perfectly horrid time of year to look for apartments.

It was all so strange. Had I not gotten confused about which theater Jeremy and I were meeting at, I would�ve been in the movie and would�ve missed her call. When we got into the movie, I remembered it was set in Chicago.

Hell, I�ll give anything higher meaning, if it fits with how I�m feeling at that moment. But surely it was a sign, eh?

Afterward, at dinner, I regaled Jeremy with tales of what I need to buy to move out. Lovely as the eggplant torta was, it did not prevent me from discussing toilet brushes and trashcans at the dinner table. He�s a jar, that Jeremy. A brick. A duck.

I�m sorry you don�t have Salon Premium. I see there�s an exclusive interview with Steve Earle today. Some of you need a bit more Steve Earle in your lives. Certainly that Kate does. But I endorse her Interpol, Badly Drawn Boy, DJ Shadow, etc. Try some Reigning Sound, eh?

In spite of my fear of the word moist, I may try this Moist band she likes. I�ll have to give them an alias. Maybe Damp would work. Or maybe I'll just be grateful their name isn't Turgid, which makes me blush.

Babbling. Happy.

Does a resignation letter count as a rejection letter? Hmm?

From the radio this morning, I learned: �If you�re swerving on the road of life, you�re running someone off the road.�

Sorry, buddy.