flashingreds...
non-fatal non-wound
(2002-11-07, 2:21 p.m.)
Never mind that Hartford Courant piece from yesterday. I think the link�s down, too. I should fix that, take it out. Really, I might get to that later. In short, it was an audacious lie, and the typically reliable source has notified me that the story has been proved wrong, and cetera.

So there.

Let�s also get this out of the way: I lied. I did not actually stop at the courthouse this morning and get registered in the proper precinct for voting purposes. Maybe this is small and selfish of me, but I need to live on the hope that I will not be here for the next vote. Okay? Surely you understand.

That felt nice. What else can I confess? Maybe that I did call Prospective Suburban Employer the other day, promptly after a meeting with the head of my present office. She rang me back later; I feel like we should go shopping together and make snarky comments about dubious fashions and such. Maybe catch a Beth Orton show. And I feel bad that she�s decided to not hire anyone, based on my reaction, when she really needs the help.

So I sent off a resume to Brown today, in hopes that they�ll soon tire of hearing from me and give me an interview. But we both know that they�re really just pleased to have another copy of my resume/cover letter to use as high-quality scratch paper. Another copy�s headed off toward Boston when I leave work today, but I don�t hold any hopes for that, either. These are, however, The Little Things That Get One By.

Random capitalization, here we come!

And hell, if I were closer to The Kate, we could actually take that trip to London. (I am still following through with the passport thing�my gift to myself. Though I could desperately use a bloody Palm, so maybe I wouldn�t miss so many meetings. And a DVD player, so that I may enjoy �Lovely and Amazing� to the greatest possible extent. But that�s all.) Or Worcester. Doesn�t really matter to me. And every now and then, I could drive to western MA for a cup of vegetarian chili at the Java Hut. I can�t tell you how I crave it, how hard I�ve tried to replicate it.

So now the rambling brings me closer to what one probably hopes is my final point: Thanksgiving. My aunt is hosting, but since she won�t have much time to prepare, she�s planning a menu of soup, sandwiches, salads and dessert. I could potentially avoid the temptation of potato bologna in this, my first real year as a vegetarian. But when one comes from a long line of farming folk, vegetarianism isn�t taken too kindly, so I don�t expect any sort of concessions for my diet. They were lovely about adding ham and cranberry sauce to the family dinners when it was determined that I was allergic to poultry, but this is different. This is what seems to them a foolish and unnatural choice. So clearly I must volunteer to bring a non-meat soup, if I wish to eat, and I needn�t bring very much, because nobody�ll try it. Save my mom, maybe, who�s strangely proud that I, the odd child, have now added vegetarianism to my long list of quirks. And the point is simply that I could use some suggestions for soups that might be enticing to family members, aside from the vegetarian chili that�s currently multiplying in the fridge.

Yeah. So that�s my Thanksgiving. The married siblings will theoretically be in attendance, as well. We�ll talk about the forthcoming nephew. What�re your plans?

Oh, and you should know, I�m Rob Gordon from High Fidelity. Surprise, surprise. You?

Yeah, yeah, yeah. Back to work with me. Papers await shuffling, whilst I prepare more passive sentences for your entertainment.