flashingreds...
just a piece of pecan pie
(2002-11-05, 1:28 p.m.)
Today I wish:

1. I�d taken the job in Upscale Suburb.

2. Money wasn�t a concern.

3. The holidays weren�t coming.

4. I didn�t feel whelmed at the thought of a houseguest for the weekend.

5. I�d slept more last night and dreamed less.

6. The dishes were done.

7. I had a patron who�d pay my bills. Or at least a personal assistant to write the checks already and get �em in the mail.

8. I could play in the rain.

Blah blah blah.

I was up too late last night. Ryan Adams and Willie Nelson were on Letterman, and since Ryan and I have had this whole love-hate relationship thing going for 5 or 6 years, I couldn�t let him down. I must admit I was impressed. The song was okay, but best of all, Ryan was well behaved and worthy of Willie�s company, and I felt really fond of him.

So then I reminisced about Whiskeytown/Ryan Adams shows, and I felt better.

But even better than that�when they finished, I flipped over to Leno, and Tony Bennett and kd lang were doing a duet of �What a Wonderful World.� Tony didn�t look altogether comfortable with crooning to a suited lady, but kd was divine.

I think. Hell, it was long past my bedtime.

And so lunch consisted of driving circles about the town, listening to the No Depression Radio Show, the theme of which was murder ballads. Forget food and errands, kids�this is living.

Taking my grumpy self back to box and ship some things. Entertain yourself with this, from the dreadfully stimulating publishing world.