flashingreds...
i'll fly away
(2002-10-30, 9:54 a.m.)
I marched my jihad resume down the hall yesterday, with all the glory of a sinking ship. It will come to naught, but I have said my piece.

In honor of my swan�s song, I have reversed my decision on the work costume. I hit Hobby Lobby (you know, hooray for the middle America Christian chain stores) for gold fabric paint and red spray paint. Since I was already there, it seemed like a good time to stock up on more paint and canvases, but I digress. Tonight Judy is dropping off a sport coat of Bob�s, as well as a clip-on tie, should she find one. I still need to buy candy, apply the logos I downloaded to my trusty cardboard vehicle, and I�m set.

Perhaps we�ll lunch out tomorrow. Perhaps we�ll have a happy hour, as we did the year of Lucille Ball, Carmen Miranda and Mary Katherine Gallagher. What else have we to do?

Maybe we�ll even get some soul cakes, which brings me back to a discussion of yesterday regarding my sincere desire to be Aretha Franklin for Halloween, in a revival of the women in, uh, entertainment costume series. Now that would bring new meaning to �soul cakes.�

I concede it�s an amusing holiday, full of fun and high jinks. It�s the one time of year when I can say �high jinks.� I�m not, however, tempted to throw off a visit to ewenorker in favor of the costume party this weekend. It will be downright frigid here this weekend; one must assume it would be warmer in the nether regions of the state. If nothing else, the famous So. Ill. wine should bring at least the semblance of warmth.

Hey, here�s an idea. Let�s all quit, then let�s all go on vacation. If I fail to do the former, I suspect I�ll need the latter to make it though the winter. In any case, I think I�m going to order snowshoes, so I�m ready to go anywhere. Let me know.