flashingreds...
my sally field day
(2002-10-24, 9:17 a.m.)
I am mulling a job offer from Prospective Suburban Employer and wondering about the long-term effects of using an electric heating pad on my head.

I didn�t want to like the place, I really didn�t. I wanted the flaws I�d noted last time to be true, but they weren�t. People did seem happy and told me repeatedly how much they enjoyed working at PSE. And I met lots of people. When I finally sat down with Prospective Boss, she had no questions and threw out the offer.

She also threw out the fact that the whole office might be moved to Texas to consolidate with another office in as short a time as a year. I was duly warned and told to really think about that. I immediately saw that as my out, my way to decline the offer and not seem like an asshole. But by that point, it was seriously disappointing.

I have no delusions about my employability. I�ve been looking for jobs in Chicagoland for months, and for every job for which I�m qualified, there�s a dearth of qualified applicants. Will that change in one year? Doubtful. So I stay and continue to dream of moving away. Of liking my job. It�s time to find one that�s a good match, one where I can stay more than a year or two before moving on. Eh?

But here�s the best part of the day: We (PB and her marketing counterpart and I) went to lunch at a nice restaurant in Upscale Suburbia. It was in a quaint little mall-type thing. As we nibbled bread and discussed the Bears, a nicely dressed lady walked past, walking in a fashion that suggested either bugs in her panties or the desire to be watched. I glanced at PB, and she laughed. It was a fashion show. It was a normal occurrence. If you were really lucky, the lady stopped at your table to tell you about her outfit.

I loved it.

I have to call tomorrow or Monday. I should do it tomorrow.