flashingreds...
what the lord hath wrought
(2002-10-08, 9:34 p.m.)
The real reason I don�t get the job after the second interview: Because when I receive the call to set up the second interview, I�m drunk in a bar, and upon this realization, the interviewer can�t not give me a second interview, but neither can they conceive of hiring the drunk girl for the job.

Oh yeah.

So tonight I thought it was Jeremy calling and answered with something that seemed witty at the time, but it wasn�t Jeremy. It was Prospective Suburban Employer. Oh, and did I mention I was sitting at a table with coworkers who knew nothing of my potential defection? I believe I handled it all with grace and aplomb. And with several pints of what we will fondly call clearance beer. Sale beer. Please-finish-the-keg-so-we-can-put-something-else-on-tap beer. But I�m grateful I missed the call when they rang me at work. That�s always awkward.

Today was a good day. Reasons:

1. I overslept. (This is good and bad, admittedly.)

2. I made friends with one of the construction workers, whose sole job seemed to be spraying the driveway with a big ol� hose connected to the fire hydrant. For seriously most of the day. We�re working on a cross-training plan.

3. I took the car in for an oil change and got just that, nothing more.

4. My number finally came up (thanks to complaining at high levels yesterday) for a parking spot in the parking lot directly outside my building. After a year on the waiting list. I got the new parking tag today, before they could change their minds.

5. A woman called and offered to take $100 off the asking price of an antique kitchen piece I looked at over the weekend.

6. The call for the second interview, aside from the drinking in what was clearly a bar part of the scenario.

Upon wise counsel from the pregnant sister, I�ve decided to go to this interview, expecting the salary will not be sufficient to make me actually have to think about taking the job. Then I shall lay off (meaning no resumes out at all, unless it�s a super-fab job) for the winter and reconsider in the spring. Theoretically I�d be saving money during that time, too, but I think we both know how well that�ll work out.

But I shan�t think a thing more about it, because it�s gonna be a busy week. Tomorrow night is Todd Snider, Friday is the big party with a band at K & W�s house, Saturday is enjoying the lovely autumn season, and Sunday could be more antiquing. And it will be divine.

I think we also have theNorth Mississippi Allstars next week, which will be divine.

Is my luck changing? I�m fond of the positive affirmations these past few weeks have brought. Who says alcohol is a depressant?

I�m pleased that I have a foolish, hopeless crush. The very best and safest of the crushes.

Things are okay. I�ll paint you a picture, if you promise to stop googling things like �piss on men� or �concert girls flashing.� Okay, pets?