flashingreds...
in which she creates more self-involved drama
(2002-09-02, 7:51 p.m.)
Happy Labor Day.

I was determined to make my own little statement about the day and businesses' failure to give their workers a day off, but I had to stop and buy gas. I hadn't planned for trips home both Sunday and Monday, but both siblings and their husbands came home, just on separate days. Of course I had nothing better to do.

But it was just the gas station. That's it.

Sigh.

So, the wedding. Thanks to being the lone single girl without a date at the rehearsal, a bridesmaid (and former high school classmate) latched onto me, since her husband was busy that night. Which meant no sitting and drinking with the groom's fun friends. Instead I was shocked by C's excessive prudishness.

I honestly didn't realize anyone still had hangups about living together before marriage. I, of course, somehow found cause to advocate this, but she argued that marriages where they've lived together beforehand are more likely to fail. But frankly, it makes more sense to me to live together than to maintain seperate residences, yet spend the nights, etc., frequently. I'm all for saving money. And getting a damned clear picture of what you're in for.

I also discovered she's very religious. Maybe there wasn't sex before marriage, which bafffles me, anyway. And of course she doesn't drink. So, yeah, we had nothing in common. Good times.

All that aside, I still cannot possibly bear another wedding. It was one of those nights when I tried very hard to get drunk, but it wouldn't happen. I did more than my fair share of dancing, but as things drew to a close, I took my leave and had a long, sober drive home.

Let's not even talk about the scenes I made when high school teachers and the like asked me how I liked my job.

Which brings me back to the same old theme. I dunno what to do about this publisher who's called to ask for my resume. I'd rather not deal with another rejection. And it's so far from the city.

I've gotta quit listening old Whiskeytown. I look like hell tonight.