flashingreds...
shockingly informed on statewide events
(2002-08-09, 10:06 a.m.)
Just to clear things up, this is neither amusing nor nice.

This is.

As I headed into town this morning, I noticed a lovely new sign along I-74 directing the Bears-bound traffic to the correct exit, although those coming from my direction are likely to know where they�re going. I�m feeling much animosity. Yes, I want to leave and feel a pull to the big city, but I�m from here. I�m the one who gets to disrespect the area. Sigh.

Thank you, George Ryan, for bashing both the state fair and broccoli. Oh, he�s made ever-so-many friends during his reign, hasn�t he? Well, to be fair, I applaud his stance on the death penalty, whatever his motive may have been. But I digress. He�s an awful man.

Did anyone else hear the episode of This American Life about Cicero? It�s one that had me glued to the radio, sitting in my car in the driveway of my parents� house, since the station wouldn�t come in inside. So I�ve been fascinated by the ongoing trial, yet also disappointed that it�s not really been much of a spectacle at all. I can�t fathom how that�s possible, considering all involved. The only real news seems to be that Betty�s toned down her outrageously awful wardrobe. But we�re nearing the end, and I�m eager for the verdict.

Because this is what I do with my day�monitor trials that do not affect me in any way whatsoever. Nerd.

Wiseacre. Did anyone ever really use that word?

In other news, the World Free-Fall Convention continues through Sunday. Jeremy said that there were nude skydivers falling from the sky yesterday. Can you imagine? I can�t think it would feel pleasant, and we certainly hoped their landings were gentle and non-abrasive.

I�m mildly excited to see the Star Room Boys and Jack Ingram (no link�I don�t like his website, and I rule this journal with a mighty fist) tomorrow evening. One often ignores the facts of finances when concerts are involved. And it�s an early show�a perfect fit for those of us in the �older� crowd. Maybe I can rush home and still catch some Britcoms before bedtime.

Okay, okay. I�m gonna work on the site this weekend. It�s admittedly ugly as sin.

Don't forget to check out Ask the Pilot on Salon today. (They're getting back on my good list, particularly with this. May your landing be gentle and non-abrasive.