flashingreds...
keep your boy bands to yourself
(2002-08-02, 11:42 a.m.)
Friday. Time for another edition of Ask the Pilot.

So we�re in day 2 of my experiment. No ICQ and only a quick update here. I�m trying to be a working machine, now that I�ve determined I don�t have to check my �other� e-mail every half hour for well-deserved job offers. They don�t know what they�re missing, and if I can�t look forward to running off soon, I must attack that murky yellow mess of stuff that keeps lingering in the general vicinity of my desk. I am a high-powered publishing professional.

Sigh.

I am out-of-sorts. I can admit it. I overslept a bit, and by the time I dressed in the proper biking gear, there were big black clouds blowin� in from the west, and I was forced to forgo a ride.

This weekend I really want to go to Schuba�s, not a wedding for another cousin. This year�s lineup�at Schuba�s, not the wedding�includes my ol� pal Robbie Fulks (who once played my guitar and said nice things about me on the radio�seriously), The Shins, Califone and the very excellent Andrew Bird and his Bowl of Fire. But even if I weren�t busy, if I hadn�t squandered my last paycheck so quickly, I probably wouldn�t go. Even in a big city, you know there are places you�re nearly guaranteed to run into unsavory characters from the past. My advice? If you really adore a band, never share that experience with anyone you date, at least until marriage is involved. Then I guess it might be safe. Or just keep going to shows alone.

I am, however, having difficulties with music. I like the alt-country scene. I�ve liked it for many years. But the thing is, the music is depressing, for the most part. I�m not saying I want some crappy, peppy pop or some raging death metal to get me going, but I could use more albums that aren�t mainly comprised of sad and mellow songs. A prime example of what I mean? Gillian Welch. So I�ve found myself shooting off into weird directions�I�ve always liked the Pumpkins, Weezer, Radiohead, etc., and I loved the new DJ Shadow and The Strokes. But my recent music buys, much like life, are all over the board. That could be okay, but it just seems lackadaisical.

Did I just say lackadaisical? If you catch me saying catawampus, call in help.

Maybe the new contest will involve a prize for the person who turns me on to the best new music. You�ll have to send me your credentials�who you last saw in concert, your fave bands, etc., so I have some reason to trust the advice. A lady alone cannot be too trusting.

I can also report that the workin� like a machine plan has fizzled out. Seems the bosses are all gone, so everyone�s wound up and talkative. It wouldn�t do to be rude. And I can�t turn down friends who want to go out for lunch.

So relax, have a nice afternoon, and have a few martinis for me tonight. I�ll be doing laundry, lest I be improperly dressed for the weekend of family fun. Next week I hope to bring insights into the migration patterns of crickets in my apartment and other assorted juicy tidbits.