flashingreds...
sadness, sampling and Sonic
(2002-07-26, 3:33 p.m.)
I am sick over the coal miners trapped inside the mine in PA. It�s the Kursk all over again. Can�t stop checking for updates, combing news stories for signs of life.

Welcome to Friday.

After picking out stylish frames for my new glasses at lunchtime (mine will be dark horn), I picked up a falafel pita on campus and headed back to work. But I was early, and what better way to waste more time than to keep going and hit the Sonic? So D.W. and I had strawberry limeades. It felt like we were cheating on ewenorker, since we�ve never had them without her. And don�t tell, but I stole her chair. D.W. has mine now. We�re just sampling, looting, whatever. I even sat in her office for a bit, so I could concentrate on the letter I was writing. Too much drama in my own office. But it is rather depressing to see the office all empty.

By the way, we�re still unable to find out why the ice pellets in the limeades do not melt.

It�s been a putzing sort of day�not really getting much accomplished, but doing little things. Putting books and contracts away. Jealous? Ah, well, this is the life of the high-powered publishing professional.

Tonight will be happy hour with the beloved Dings and other pals associated with the last job. It�s martini night, for sure. Well, a martini happy hour, anyway. Later we�ll have to switch to beer, when we go across town to hear the mary janes. What can you say about a band that draws you to a bar where there�s only one beer on tap and rude waitresses who shriek to carry on conversation with the (non-cover-paying) regulars during the show? They�re just that good. But I agree--it would be nice to see a full band for a change. Would be nice to see a full bar for a change, too, but I digress.

Things to do this weekend:

1. Listen to the new CDs. Decide whether I want to go see The Shins next Wednesday night.

2. Read that issue of No Depression that�s been sitting on my kitchen table since it arrived during one of my trips.

3. Take scraps to the compost heap and recyclables to their appointed bins in the garage. Then wash the dishes.

4. Pay bills.

5. Any other thing that comes to mind in order to avoid thinking about whether I ought to be packing or still looking for work. Anything that doesn�t require much physical exertion, considering the impending heat and the aforementioned lack of air conditioning at home.

6. Sleep (see number 5).

Things to do for the rest of the workday:

1. Read NYT Book Reviews from mailbox.

2. Check the weather forecast repeatedly, drink plenty of fluids, and don�t overexert.

In spite of casual Friday, I�m still wearing a dress.