flashingreds...
the milli vanilli marketing treatise
(2002-07-18, 10:06 a.m.)
This morning as I was out for a constitutional, it occurred to me that book publishers could perhaps take a lesson from Milli Vanilli.

I call this the Milli Vanilli Marketing Treatise.

You see, while it�s nice to have nice innards for the book, all the stuff on the inside won�t matter a speck if the cover is ugly. This is what Frank Farian, Milli Vanilli�s manager, knew, and therefore we had Rob and Fab, not the old, fat folk who really sang the songs. And the songs were good, weren�t they? Together there was form and content. This is important.

My pal J. Lee recently confessed that she and our buddy Jeremy once spent an evening cruising the Barnes & Noble, each seeking the book with the most visually and, get this, tactilely attractive book cover. And they bought and read the winners. Now trade booksellers do think carefully about covers, particularly when they have the resources to invest in an appealing cover. But do they consider how the cover of a paperback feels? Again, back to Milli Vanilli. They were hot. Even in my adolescent confusion, I wanted to touch them, knew it would feel nice.

I missed a cover meeting yesterday. Had I had this brilliant thought yesterday, and had I set my meeting alarm, I could have wowed �em. Better luck next week.

Maybe I should really keep it to myself. I was having odd dreams when I awoke this morning. I think I took a walk. If I didn�t take a walk, then maybe I was in a fashion show, where I wore a sultry polka-dotted gown and needed a shtick for my trip down the runway. I chose to accessorize by playing paddleball . But as I walked out, I saw two white rats, one in a wedding gown, the other in a white tux (white tux?), and I screamed. Nobody cared. It was all about the rats.

Hey, and thanks to ewenorker, I may get some pictures up here soon. I�ll try my best, but I�m clearly struggling with elementary tasks, such as linking.

My hair still looks like an inverted flowerpot hat, but I�m in my dumpster-diving dress, and we�re goin� to Sonic at lunch!