flashingreds...
the bears and other assorted terror
(2002-07-17, 2:47 p.m.)
Several items:

1. I will never, ever divulge unnecessary details about drinking binges. If there are ugly details, I would prefer to pretend they didn�t happen. And even if it seems funny later, there will be no descriptions of unladylike details. I recommend you do the same.

2. Bea Arthur may continue to do as she will (and I�ll still love her), but I resolve to only wear skirts for the remainder of this dry, yet steamy summer. Skirts rock.

There. Important to have said, I think.

I am presently freaked out about The Terror again. Maybe it�s just the Tribune�s lead story freaking me out. I don�t like the mention of the Sears Tower threat. I�m immediately reminding of the things I felt and heard in the city last fall, just after the event. The military jets flying overhead at night. So I shall trust the words of the so-called jihad cowboy on Salon (Premium, sorry), who says that the rumors of al-Qaida recruits and a large faction operating in the US is bunk. So why don�t y�all figure things out and then get back to me with the results, eh? I don�t mean to be flippant, but I think it�s a decent point. Can�t we have a moratorium on trying to incite fear?

In other news, I heard that tickets for individual Bears games go on sale Saturday morning. Don�t laugh, but I would really love to go to a game. Shhh.

I�m slacking off on the resume thing. Can�t somebody out there just call and offer me a job? E-mail me? Please? I suppose I cannot pin my hopes on that, since my one responsive reader (let�s hear it for ewenorker!) is moving her sassy self down south next week, and she hasn�t a job yet, either. But anyone else? If you don�t pipe up soon, I�ll resort to daily stories of Why This Job Won�t Do Any Longer. I can break you, yes I can.

I can't decide which coworker I want to spit on today. It's a little game I play to try to keep a positive attitude toward the office.

Know those straw hats that look like they�re modeled after inverted flowerpots? I�m pretty sure that�s what my hair looks like today.