flashingreds...
muu muus and circuses
(2002-07-16, 8:49 p.m.)
Sleep is my new drug of choice.

Excessive desire to sleep is also a sign of other things, and history and a tiny sense of self-awareness says there's certainly a tinge of anxiety and despair involved.

I don't think it's asking too much to have a job that you don't dread going to in the morning. Eh? I've had 'em. Okay, one. It was good for a year, but only by one year into a two-year gig. And the money sucked, so when the fun 'n games of work are over, the black shadow of debt followed. Not that I've escaped that with the fancy state job and state benefits that the old folks wax nostalgic about. Do you get that, too?

It's time for me to leave town, to a new job that may or may not be better, and I'm sad that it's time for other pals to leave, too. Some of them are lucky enough to realize it. If only they'd move wherever I move, so the fun could continue. It's all about me.

See, my boss wore a muu muu a few weeks ago. Then the homemade, vegetable-patterned dress with the fake plastic veggies on her matching necklace. She's loud. Really loud. And there's always at least the sound of flying spittle. There is no topic on which we agree. And then there's the fact that my work has nothing to do with her department.

On a brighter note, I cleaned house tonight. Trying to get my brain to understand I'm done with the excessive travel of the past few months. Please, enough of the dreams where I arrive for work, find out I'm supposed to be at the airport, stress out about not having packed for the week-long trip, and wake up making mental lists of the things I'll need to buy when I arrive.

And my sister might be pregnant. With multiple children.

I am whelmed. So maybe I'll go read the manuscript about the woman with Type I diabetes who goes blind. Because that's sure to make me feel better.

And while I'm doing that, can you please think of a multipurpose epithet/label I can use in lieu of whore? Whilst it no longer has a derogatory meaning to me, that means I use it way too often in the presence of small children.

One thing I've learned: you really can just join the circus.